Our Staff

Meet the Program Directors

Meet the ACT Houston staff. They are here to help!

 

Janis Salsman – Certification Specialist – Notification of teaching assignment for internship and any questions concerning probationary or standard certificates
Telephone number: (832) 200-0552 ext. 237
Email: jsalsman@acthouston.com

Diane Moody – Credentialing Specialist – School district contact for certification questions; extensions for probationary certificates; notification for any teaching assignment changes
Telephone number: (832) 200-0552 ext. 247
Email: dmoody@acthouston.com

Tania Williams – Receptionist/Financial Specialist – Provides information, schedules appointments, and accepts program fee payments
Telephone number: (832) 200-0552 ext. 235
Email: twilliams@acthouston.com

Charles "Lynn" Marshall – Program Coordinator – Conducts interviews and evaluates transcripts; provides program information; works with act♦houston Field Supervisors
Telephone number:  (832) 200-0552 ext. 218
Email:  lmarshall@acthouston.com

Betty Ann Williams – Oversees Institute classes, make-up dates, and assignments; oversees test preparation sessions
Emailbwilliams@acthouston.com

Dr. Debbie Dunlap – Program Director (Houston) – Certification Officer
Telephone number: (832) 200-0552 ext. 249
Email: ddunlap@acthouston.com

Dr. Bobette Dunn – Program Director (Dallas/Austin) –  College Access Loans, Veterans benefits, Troops to Teachers benefits, etc. (is located in the Dallas office)
Telephone number: 1-877-286-0024 (toll free)
Email: bdunn@act-dallas.com

Dr. Vicki Johnston - Program Director (Houston) – Oversees all Institute preparation and TExES preparation sessions; school district contact for “highly qualified” candidates
Telephone number: (832) 200-0552 ext. 206
Email: vjohnston@acthouston.com

How to Become A Teacher in Texas

Five Easy Steps that begin with a phone call!

Step 1: Appointment to determine your eligibility

Step 2: TExES Content Exam for your certification area

Step 3: Preparation Program Institute & Field-based Experience

Step 4: Choose your route to teach! Internship OR Clinical Teaching Practicum

Step 5: Receive your STANDARD TEACHER CERTIFICATE!

Begin your teaching career NOW!